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	<title>WebReach, Cavan, Ireland &#187; Search Engine Marketing</title>
	<atom:link href="http://webreach.ie/blog/category/search-engine-marketing/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://webreach.ie</link>
	<description>SEO and Internet Marketing, Ireland</description>
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		<title>Make your Web Page Meta Descriptions Work for You</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/make-your-web-page-meta-descriptions-work-for-you/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/make-your-web-page-meta-descriptions-work-for-you/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 18 Aug 2009 14:31:20 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[meta descriptions]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[on-page seo]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engines]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=590</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Meta description values are used by the search engines as the snippets that show up under the web page address or URL in the search engine results. For example when doing a quick Google search for the term “scaffolding Ireland” these were the results.
&#8220;In addition to Sale &#038; Hire, our Contracts Department works with many [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Meta description values are used by the search engines as the snippets that show up under the web page address or URL in the search engine results. For example when doing a quick Google search for the term “scaffolding Ireland” these were the results.</p>
<blockquote><p>&#8220;In addition to Sale &#038; Hire, our Contracts Department works with many of Ireland&#8217;s major building contractors to supply and erect scaffolding…&#8221;
</p></blockquote>
<blockquote><p>
&#8220;Scaffolding Formwork in Ireland, find whatever you need wherever you need it…&#8221;
</p></blockquote>
<blockquote><p>&#8220;keycons003 / keycons003&#215;34 20/08/2009 02:17:38 / A3 / B4 / 0.3603516, 66.249.65.21514. Scaffolding Erectors And Hirers, Ireland…&#8221;
</p></blockquote>
<p>Would you agree that these leave a lot to be desired?<br />
<span id="more-590"></span></p>
<p>Frequently website owners pay little to no attention to the composition of their website’s meta descriptions. All too often the descriptions are incomplete or poorly written. Meta descriptions are one of the key elements in optimizing your website’s content. When creating your website’s meta descriptions remember to use accurate descriptive nouns and adjectives rather than generalizations because they will prove much more effective in providing an accurate description of your website to your potential visitor and the search algorithms will rank your site higher.</p>
<p>An example of some empty phrases or less successful phrases can be found in Top Gobbledygook Phrases list compiled by David Meerman. Some examples of really bad meta descriptions are cutting edge, innovative, robust, value added, flexible, results focused, unparalleled and world class. All of these phrases do not actually say anything specific about a product or service. They are all very general phrases, and by making the description so general, it actually ends up saying nothing at all. </p>
<h3>Specific Meta Descriptions are best</h3>
<p>Good meta description phrases need to be specific about the product’s benefit for the customer. When you are thinking about the meta descriptions for your website, look at your product like you are your customer. What would make you click on a link to the product? What kind of benefit are you looking for from the product? What makes one version of the product superior to another? These are the types of questions that you want to answer before writing the meta descriptions for your website. </p>
<p>For example, does your product last longer than its competitors? Is your product a higher quality or does a service offer more integrity? Do you offer a bigger bang for the customer’s buck?</p>
<p>Once you zero in on the top reasons that your customer would want your product over your competition’s product, you can construct a really good meta description for your website. Here are some examples of the types of things that a customer may find valuable when considering your product. </p>
<p>•	An offer – 25% off through the end of the month, Free with purchase of<br />
•	Associations – Approved by the BBB, or accredited by, authorized dealer, board certified, Winners of the … Award<br />
•	Time – Established 1972, Serving the Community Since 1959<br />
•	Expertise – Factory Trained<br />
•	Guarantee – Lifetime Guarantee, One Year Guarantee, Low Price Guarantee<br />
•	Service – Overnight Delivery, Easy Returns, Replacement Parts Included, Same Day Shipping<br />
•	Track Record – More than 1 Million Sold, Over 20,000 Satisfied Customers, Over 1,000 listings</p>
<p>The meta descriptions that you use can also be repeated throughout your website. For example, in a service industry it is important for customers to know that you stand behind your work. So adding the BBB reference in your meta description is a great idea. Then including the BBB logo on your website will repeat the guarantee in the customer’s mind. It is a small addition to your site that could potentially gain new customers for your business every day. </p>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Google Analytics Disadvantages &#8211; It Can&#8217;t Track Website Crawlers</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/google-analytics-disadvantages-you-cant-track-your-website-crawlers/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/google-analytics-disadvantages-you-cant-track-your-website-crawlers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 23 Jun 2009 12:31:49 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google Analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[crawltrack]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[googlebot]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[search engine spiders]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Seo]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[slurp inktomi]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[website crawler statistics]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=510</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Ok first up I have to say that we are all fans of Google Analytics here, with good reason: it&#8217;s zero-cost, its rich array of features: brilliant reporting capabilities, the ability to slice and dice the data in almost every conceivable way, the slick ajax-ified interface, and the support for advanced stuff like advanced segmentation [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Ok first up I have to say that we are all fans of Google Analytics here, with good reason: it&#8217;s zero-cost, its rich array of features: brilliant reporting capabilities, the ability to slice and dice the data in almost every conceivable way, the slick ajax-ified interface, and the support for advanced stuff like advanced segmentation and something that I really love using on e-commerce sites &#8211; goals and funnels, and for the nerds among us &#8211; filters.</p>
<ol>
<li>The analytics data is not available in real-time, you have to wait until midnight passes the next day to see yesterday&#8217;s data</li>
<li>The data is not yours &#8211; it&#8217;s Google&#8217;s &#8211; and for all of the clean image that Google has (&#8221;don&#8217;t be evil&#8221;), forgive me when I say that I prefer to have my own copy of my website trend and visitor data.</li>
<li>Google Analytics works by including a JavaScript snippet in your pages, but search engine spiders (&#8221;crawlers&#8221;) don&#8217;t execute JavaScript when they load your site&#8217;s pages, so their visits aren&#8217;t logged by Google Analytics. So when spiders from GoogleBot, Inktomi (Yahoo), Bing (Microsoft&#8217;s new search engine), Ask and Baidu crawl your site, you know absolutely zero about it from looking at your GA reports.</li>
</ol>
<p><span id="more-510"></span><br />
To track these visitors that in the vast majority of cases go totally unnoticed, you need a server-side scripting package that logs all visits to a database, including search engine spiders. There are a few free ones out there, and one of the best of these is CrawlTrack &#8211; freely available to download at <a href="http://www.crawltrack.net/" target="_blank">http://www.crawltrack.net/</a></p>
<p>The install for CrawlTrack is reasonably straightforward, and can be completed in a few minutes. All you need to do is upload the CrawlTrack files to a new directory on your hosting account, create a new database on your hosting account&#8217;s MySQL server, include a piece of CrawlTrack PHP code in your website code (in a header file, or another appropriate file, as indicated by the CrawlTrack documentation) and go through the automated installation procedure. </p>
<p>CrawlTrack does not interfere with Google Analytics, you can run them side-by-side no problem, and enables you to see which spiders are crawling your site and how often. Here&#8217;s a screenshot of the &#8220;Crawlers&#8221; activity view from one of my new websites just taken today.</p>
<p><img src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/crawltrack-crawlers-statistics-2.png" alt="crawltrack-crawlers-statistics-2" title="crawltrack-crawlers-statistics-2" width="700" height="800" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-519" /></p>
<p>This data shows the percentage of visits from certain spiders. A table at the bottom shows how often each spider is crawling your site, broken down by each individual spider.  Note: a &#8220;Visit&#8221; is one individual page load by the spider. </p>
<p>You can click on the name of the spider (e.g. GoogleBot) to drill down into detailed crawl stats for that specific robot. This view will give you individual crawl stats for each page of the site crawled, as well as stats into what percentage of your site pages were not crawled.</p>
<p>This is great data for SEO as it shows the regard by which the search engines are giving to your site. This is very useful if you are publishing new content on your site, or updating it, and you want to see when the new content is indexed by the search engines, therefore enabling you to monitor the effectiveness of site changes, e.g. you update your site with a special offer, and wait patiently for enquiries to come in. But the thing is that you don&#8217;t know when the search engines will index the new content. With CrawlTrack, you can see exactly when this new content is indexed, therefore giving you the ability to correlate the offer with the response more accurately.  </p>
<p>With CrawlTrack, you will also be able to see trends in your website crawl data that indicates interest from the search engines because of SEO activities like inbound link-building. </p>
<p>Then comparing your CrawlTrack data with your Google Analytics data may give you interesting correlates.   </p>
<p>All comments welcome!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Google Local Search &#8211; How to Easily Get Your Business Listed #1 on Google</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/google-local-search-how-to-easily-get-your-business-listed-1-on-google/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/google-local-search-how-to-easily-get-your-business-listed-1-on-google/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 05 Jun 2009 12:34:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Local Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Local Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Maps]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ireland]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Irish Businesses Online]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=454</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Google Local Search has recently kicked in with a vengeance in Ireland, with map results with local business listings being displayed #1 on the search results page when someone types in a search with a town or city name in the search term, when business listings which are taken from the Google Local Business Center [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google Local Search has recently kicked in with a vengeance in Ireland, with map results with local business listings being displayed #1 on the search results page when someone types in a search with a town or city name in the search term, when business listings which are taken from the Google Local Business Center match the searched for keyphrase and town or city name. </p>
<p>For example, a search on Google.ie as follows <a target="_blank" href="http://www.google.ie/search?q=online%20marketing%20cavan&#038;ie=utf-8&#038;oe=utf-8&#038;aq=t">&#8220;online marketing cavan&#8221;</a> yields the following results:<br />
<span id="more-454"></span><br />
<img src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/online-marketing-cavan-google-search-2.png" alt="Online Marketing Cavan Google.ie Search" title="Online Marketing Cavan Google.ie Search" width="641" height="345" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-465" /><br />
</p>
<p>This is a massive boon to local businesses, especially those who have a website which can be displayed in the Google Local Business Search result. </p>
<p>So those business who may not have known how local Internet search has become will be pleased to find out that Google is favoring local business listings in their ever developing search algorithm.</p>
<p>Most businesses in Ireland are unaware of how uncompetitive local search is for their business niche.  And this makes it even more tantalising to get into the online game.  At a time when businesses are feeling the pinch and looking at new ways to market in a cost effective way, this subject is more relevant than ever. </p>
<p>I think I&#8217;ll write a post in a few days just on this subject.</p>
<p>Till then, take care. </p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Using Google&#8217;s Wonder Wheel for AdWords Keyword Research</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/using-googles-wonder-wheel-for-adwords-keyword-research/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/using-googles-wonder-wheel-for-adwords-keyword-research/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 28 May 2009 17:32:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Wonder Wheel]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=428</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Google have added a new tool to their already impressive array of search engine features and tools which can give you a great insight into how keywords relate in respect of real searches conducted on Google.  One of the uses that this tool has is that it can really help you to structure your [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google have added a new tool to their already impressive array of search engine features and tools which can give you a great insight into how keywords relate in respect of real searches conducted on Google.  One of the uses that this tool has is that it can really help you to structure your AdWords campaigns for maximum clout, helping your Quality Score and therefore your cost effectiveness and hence your profitability. </p>
<p>The name of the tool is <strong>Wonder Wheel</strong> and is available under the &#8220;Show Options&#8221; link to the top left of the main search results pane. Check out the screenshot below to see how to access it. <span id="more-428"></span>  </p>
<p><img src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/google-search-show-options.png" alt="google-search-show-options" title="google-search-show-options" width="658" height="533" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-429" /></p>
<p>Now you get a sub-menu where there are loads of interesting filters for your previous search query, &#8220;fancy dress&#8221; in this case. There&#8217;s a Videos filter, Forums and Reviews filters and time filters which are useful for your average searcher. For SEO&#8217;s and keyword research though, the tool we&#8217;re interested in is the &#8220;Wonder Wheel&#8221; down near the bottom.</p>
<p><img src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/google-search-show-options-show-wonder-wheel.png" alt="google-search-show-options-show-wonder-wheel" title="google-search-show-options-show-wonder-wheel" width="661" height="450" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-431" /></p>
<p>Ok now click on that baby and now we have a flash and ajax-ified wheel display which may resurrect memories of Set Theory in Maths class, showing search terms harvested from real search trend data in the Google database, which are related to the search term you had originally typed in.  So for our original search term, &#8220;fancy dress&#8221;, we have the following:</p>
<p><img src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/google-search-fancy-dress-wonder-wheel.png" alt="google-search-fancy-dress-wonder-wheel" title="google-search-fancy-dress-wonder-wheel" width="784" height="452" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-432" /></p>
<p>We can click on any branch keyword from this star display to display both further search terms related to the branch keyword, which will also display new search results for the term we click on.  </p>
<p>So how do we use this tool to help us with our keyword research and campaign setup?  Well, we can start with a root keyphrase, such as &#8220;fancy dress&#8221; as we have in our example above, and split each of the keywords in the Wonder Wheel legs into their own ad group, using phrase and exact matching options.  Of course this will also save us time, helping us to find keywords for our campaigns that we may not have found for a while through using analytics (see <a href="http://webreach.ie/blog/ppc-adwords-management-ireland-setting-up-an-adwords-campaign-from-scratch-with-no-third-party-keyword-tools/">Building a Deep Keyword Google AdWords Campaign Without Third-Party Tools</a>), or ever. Another great use of this tool is that it can help you to identify negative keywords for your ad groups.</p>
<p>This tool could also help us in a big way with how to lay out a website, helping to define hierarchy and categories etc, using a layout reflecting how the data is presented in the Wonder Wheel results. </p>
<p>Only certain users have been selected to test the prototype for this feature, so if it isn&#8217;t available to you then all you need to do to get it is to go to Google.com and paste the following Javascript snippet into your browser address bar and then hit enter:<textarea style="font-size: 90%; width: 650px; height: 50px">javascript:void(document.cookie=&quot;PREF=ID=4a609673baf685b5:TB=2:LD=en:CR=2:TM=1227543998:LM=1233568652:DV=AA:GM=1:IG=3:S=yFGqYec2D7L0wgxW;path=/; domain=.google.com&quot;);</textarea></p>
<p>So that&#8217;s it in a nutshell.  Please do comment, ask questions, bookmark and subscribe to updates. Till next time, take care.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>How Google Rewards Smart Marketers &#8211; The AdWords Cost-Per-Click Equation</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/how-google-adwords-determines-your-cost-per-click-cpc/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/how-google-adwords-determines-your-cost-per-click-cpc/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 05 May 2009 16:49:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ad Relevance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdWords Algorithm]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Bid Price]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Cost Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Cpc]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Hal Varian]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyphrase]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Landing Page]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Page Position]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Page Quality]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click Network]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Quality Score]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Score Number]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=259</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Most pay per click networks work on the simple rule that the higher you bid for a certain keyphrase, the higher your ad position. But this is not the way that the most popular (and fairest) pay-per-click network, Google AdWords, calculates your ad position.
In AdWords, bid price is only one factor in its ad position [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Most pay per click networks work on the simple rule that the higher you bid for a certain keyphrase, the higher your ad position. But this is not the way that the most popular (and fairest) pay-per-click network, Google AdWords, calculates your ad position.</p>
<p>In AdWords, bid price is only one factor in its ad position equation. The other main factor in the ad ranking equation is Quality Score, as calculated by combining a bunch of factors, the 3 main ones being (listed in order of weighting):<br />
1. Click-Thru-Rate (CTR),<br />
2. Ad Relevance (keywords in ad title and copy)<br />
3. Landing page quality (keywords in landing page copy, structure, etc.) <span id="more-259"></span></p>
<p>Then Google takes your Quality Score and multiplies it by your bid price (Max CPC), and generates a number, called &#8220;Ad Rank&#8221;. The higher this number is compared to that of your competitors, the higher your ad ranks on the page for the given keyphrase.</p>
<p>Then, your Cost Per Click for your ad is calculated by <em>dividing your Quality Score into the Ad Rank of your next competitor</em> <strong>(thus, higher QS = lower CPC)</strong>.</p>
<p>Here is an example of how this works, with 4 ads all bidding the same amount for a given keyphrase, but all having different Quality Scores.</p>
<table border="1" cellpadding="3" align="center">
<tbody>
<tr>
<th>Ad Page Position</th>
<th>Max Bid</th>
<th>Quality Score</th>
<th>Ad Rank</th>
<th>Actual CPC</th>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">1</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">8</td>
<td align="center">32</td>
<td>(24/8) = €3</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">2</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">6</td>
<td align="center">24</td>
<td>(12/6) = €2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">3</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">3</td>
<td align="center">12</td>
<td>(8/3) = €2.67</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">4</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">2</td>
<td align="center">8</td>
<td> </td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<p>Google&#8217;s Chief Economist, Hal Varian, posted a video on YouTube back in March explaining how all of this works. The video is embedded below.</p>
<p align="center"><object width="560" height="340" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/K7l0a2PVhPQ&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/K7l0a2PVhPQ&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /></object></p>
<p>So this all points to how important it is to maintain a high Quality Score on all of the ads in your AdWords campaigns, in order to make sure that the ad is relevant for the user (ensuring a possibility of making a sale or gaining a lead) and also to keep costs down.</p>
<p>In my experience, it not good if your QS for a given keyword drops below 8. Incremental improvements to QS can be attained by constantly split testing ads against each other in each ad group in order to improve CTR and also by constantly testing and improving landing pages.</p>
<p>Hope you enjoyed this post, please do subscribe to our feed (or email updates) and we also welcome your comments.</p>
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		<title>Cashing in on Search Traffic &#8211; Simple SEO Produces Results</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/cashing-in-on-search-traffic-simple-seo-produces-results/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/cashing-in-on-search-traffic-simple-seo-produces-results/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 05 May 2009 13:58:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Wordpress]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Description Tags]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ireland]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyphrase]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keywords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Languages]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Life Coaching]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Niche Dating]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Page Content]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Regard]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Relationship]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Relationship Coaching]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Screenshot]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Volume]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Seo]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=245</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Ok now I make no secret that I like to build sites on WordPress whenever it is a suitable,  as it allows us to do fundamental on-page SEO on a site pretty easily, and also the blogging system is easy to configure and tweak on WordPress.  We have a client who is targeting the Life [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Ok now I make no secret that I like to build sites on WordPress whenever it is a suitable,  as it allows us to do fundamental on-page SEO on a site pretty easily, and also the blogging system is easy to configure and tweak on WordPress.  We have a client who is targeting the Life Coaching niche (Dating and Relationship coaching in particular), and we recently build a site for her, you can check it out at <a title="GoodLife Coaching" href="http://www.goodlifecoaching.ie" target="_blank">www.GoodLifeCoaching.ie</a>. Its build on WordPress 2.7 and is also a bilingual site, as it allows the owner to write post and page content in both English and German, and allows the visitors to switch between languages by clicking on the appropriate link. <span id="more-245"></span></p>
<p>I spent a few hours doing the basic SEO work on this site, the same as I would do on any site we develop. At a minimum, the title and description tags are carefully written to target the desired keywords and of course the page content must be relevant and contain the keywords that the site is targeting also. There are of course, lots of other on-page SEO factors, and we took care of those also.  Within a week of launching the site, it is on the #1 spot of Google.ie for the keyphrase &#8220;dating coaching&#8221; (check out the screenshot below).</p>
<p><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-248" title="GoodLifeCoaching #1 on Google.ie for keyword &quot;dating coaching&quot;" src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/picture-18.png" alt="GoodLifeCoaching #1 on Google.ie for keyword &quot;dating coaching&quot;" width="763" height="517" /></p>
<p>The keyphrase &#8220;dating coaching&#8221; does not have much competition in Ireland, so this was not such a difficult task.  The keyword &#8220;life coaching&#8221; is much more competitive so more effort will be required to get the site ranking for this keyword, more content is needed, and also a long-term manual inbound link-building campaign will be very useful in this regard.  &#8220;Dating Coaching&#8221; is a low-volume keyphrase (i.e. very few people actually search using those keywords in Ireland) but &#8220;Relationship Coaching&#8221; is much higher, and &#8220;Life Coaching&#8221; much higher volume again, so in this example the competition follows the search volume, which is usually (but not always) the case.</p>
<p>More updates coming soon, do subscribe and leave comments also, all appreciated.</p>
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		<title>So, You Want to SEO? Here&#8217;s a quick DIY On-Page SEO Glossary</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/so-you-want-to-seo-heres-a-quick-diy-on-page-seo-glossary/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/so-you-want-to-seo-heres-a-quick-diy-on-page-seo-glossary/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Apr 2009 20:46:34 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Web Design]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[on-page seo]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[organic seo]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[search engine rankings]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=606</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[When you are working on doing your own on-page Search Engine Optimisation at first the task can seem daunting, but there is good news: fortunately there are only a few areas that you need to concern yourself with, so here is a guide to help you make sure that you are not missing anything.

DIY SEO [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>When you are working on doing your own on-page Search Engine Optimisation at first the task can seem daunting, but there is good news: fortunately there are only a few areas that you need to concern yourself with, so here is a guide to help you make sure that you are not missing anything.<br />
<span id="more-606"></span></p>
<h3>DIY SEO Glossary</h3>
<ol>
<li><b>	ALT Descriptions: </b>  The ALT description used to describe an image should always contain a keyword. Inserting the keyword in the Alt description strengthens your website?s SEO capabilities and if your graphic is unable to display, the reader has an idea of what the missing image is.
</li>
<li><b>Anchor Text: </b>  Constantly use your keywords as anchor text for links, including all internal links as well as outbound links.
</li>
<li><b>Bold Text/Italic Text: </b>  Any text highlighted with bold font or italic font is considered to have more weight with search engines when they are evaluating your site. However, you do want to be careful with these fonts, because too much font noise can confuse your visitor.
</li>
<li><b>Entry Pages: </b>  Spend your time optimizing the pages of your site that you prefer the search engines find. These pages are called landing pages or entry pages, and they should generously use keywords. These pages should also be the targets for all inbound links.
</li>
<li><b>Flash Animation: </b>  While it is tempting to use flash animation throughout your website, do not use it for any navigational elements. All navigation text should be keyword optimized, and flash elements are not visible to the search engines.
</li>
<li><b>Footer Links: </b>  Links at the foot of the web page should make sense. They should be relevant, and they should be easy to navigate. While it may be tempting to include more links than necessary, this is not a good SEO practice not to mention that it just confuses your website visitor.
</li>
<li><b>H1 Tags: </b>  Use keywords in your h1 tags, and your web page should never have more than one h1 tag.
</li>
<li><b>H2/H3 Tags: </b>  These tags are used for sub headings, and they should include keywords.
</li>
<li><b>Image Titles: </b>  All of your image titles should always contain keywords.
</li>
<li><b>Internal Links: </b>  These links are very helpful to a visitor to your website as they navigate their way around your site. While they carry a little SEO weight, these links should appear on entry pages.
</li>
<li><b>Keyword Phrases: </b>  These phrases are extremely relevant to visitors and search engines alike. These phrases must be included in the site content and while not overused, they must be used frequently enough before the search engines give a site a good ranking score. Always write for humans though, not for search engines.
</li>
<li><b>Meta Descriptions: </b>  These descriptions show up in the search engine results page, so it is a good idea to put a little thought into these descriptions. For more info on this .
</li>
<li><b>Meta Keywords: </b>  This field has been so overly abused that it is virtually ignored by search engines. I wouldn&#8217;t bother with it.
</li>
<li><b>Meta Titles: </b>  The title tag is equally vital for SEO as well as for website visitors. Always mention your primary keyword here. Each web page should have a unique meta title. A title tag can also include a slogan or branding message by using a pipe bar | to separate the keywords from the brand.
</li>
<li><b>Outbound Links: </b>  These links take the visitor to another website. If they are overused the search engines will penalize your site. These links do not gain you anything from an SEO standpoint, so use them very selectively and use anchor text whenever possible.
</li>
<li><b>URL Structure: </b>  Always use hyphens instead of underscores when separating words. Your main keyword phrase should be part of your URL name. However, stay away from excessively long URL names because they are inconvenient for visitors to enter.
</li>
</ol>
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		<title>Building a Deep Keyword Google AdWords Campaign Without Third-Party Tools</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/ppc-adwords-management-ireland-setting-up-an-adwords-campaign-from-scratch-with-no-third-party-keyword-tools/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/ppc-adwords-management-ireland-setting-up-an-adwords-campaign-from-scratch-with-no-third-party-keyword-tools/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Mar 2009 20:08:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Adwords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ireland Campaign]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword Data]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword Groups]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword Ideas]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword List]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword Tool]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keywords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ppc Management]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Republic Of Ireland]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Research Tools]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Terms]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Trends]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Volume]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Synonyms]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Third Party]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=84</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This post is very worthwhile reading, especially if you live in a country with a small population like Ireland, and want to figure out how to effectively set-up a Google AdWords campaign from scratch, using a deep keyword list. 
 One of the challenging things about setting up an AdWords campaign which is geo-targeting the [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><em>This post is very worthwhile reading, especially if you live in a country with a small population like Ireland, and want to figure out how to effectively set-up a Google AdWords campaign from scratch, using a deep keyword list. </em></p>
<p><em></em> One of the challenging things about setting up an AdWords campaign which is geo-targeting the Republic of Ireland only is that a lot of the third-party keyword tools out there have little or no keyword volume for searches performed in Ireland so therefore aren&#8217;t nearly as useful as they would be for analyzing say UK or USA audiences.  You could use data collected from these high-volume countries to build out your keyword lists but, from my experience, often this does not reflect the search trends for Ireland.</p>
<p>So for this reason amongst others I have often set about building out a good deep keyword list for a campaign as the wider related keyphrases and synonyms are getting so little search volume in Ireland that they were virtually inconsequential.</p>
<p>So, in steps, here is what I find myself doing:  <span id="more-84"></span>Load up Google&#8217;s Keyword Tool (<a href="https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal" target="_blank">https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal</a>, or by selecting &#8220;Tools -&gt; Keyword Tool&#8221; from within AdWords) and from there typing in either the domain name of the client that I am building the campaign for, or, even better still, the domain name of a more comprehensive competitor&#8217;s website. Do check the box &#8220;Include other pages on my site linked from this URL&#8221; and click &#8220;Get Keyword Ideas&#8221;.  From there we will get a good list of keywords.   Save/”Add” all of the appropriate keyword groups (some groups may be totally unrelated to your campaign, ignore these) that are displayed to your list which you can later download as a text file when you are finished adding.  Then underneath the saved keyword list on the right-hand side of the page, select “Download these keywords: text” link to get your complete list of keywords as a text file. Save and open using a text editor.</p>
<p>Now what we want to do is use this large list of keywords as an input into the Google Traffic Estimator tool and see which keywords get some search volume in Ireland.  From within your AdWords account go to “Tools -&gt; Traffic Estimator” or go to <a href="https://adwords.google.com/select/TrafficEstimatorSandbox" target="_blank">https://adwords.google.com/select/TrafficEstimatorSandbox</a> and from here you can copy and paste all of the keywords in your text file that you downloaded, into the “Enter Keywords” field.  Choose Euros as the currency and leave the Max CPC field blank, and leave the Daily Budget field blank also, and then select and add Ireland to the Selected Countries box and click “Continue”.   Now the Traffic Estimator will display a table detailing the search volume estimates for Ireland for the keywords selected. Sort this descending by search volume by clicking the “Search Volume” column heading link. Here now we can see what keyphrases (from the ones that we have gathered) are going to be worthwhile building out ad groups for.</p>
<p>From this I build out an ad group for each of the top trafficked keyphrases, using the keyphrase in the ad heading, and again in the ad text and/or display URL for the ad.  This is called the “peel and stick” method.  In each ad group I will write 4 different ad variations, making sure that I edit the campaign settings and change the ad serving option from its default setting of “Optimised” to “Rotate”, so that each ad is displayed with the same frequency. This technique is commonly called “split-testing”.  Set the Ad-Group-Level Max CPC to be that of the estimated Average CPC (from the Traffic Estimator) for the particular Ad Group for that particular keyphrase. That way we know what our max CPC is going to be for that ad group.   To begin with, set all of the keyword match types in the campaign to be “Phrase”. This way we will avoid the poorly performing “Broad” match types (generally speaking, always to be avoided), and also enabling our ads to be triggered for the exact keyphrases in our ad groups that are searched for and also all searches for keyphrases containing that exact phrase but also with prefix word(s) and/or postfix word(s), for example, the keyphrase “fancy dress” with “Phrase” match type will trigger when the user searches for “fancy dress costume” and also when the user searches for “halloween fancy dress”.</p>
<p>Now, and this is the smart part: When I am starting out an an AdWords campaign like this, using Phrase match type on a broad search term, like “fancy dress”, I always tweak my Google Analytics profile for the target website to expose the exact keyword phrases that the users are finding my ads using. So for example, in Analytics by default, when someone finds and clicks on your ad after searching using the keyphrase “fancy dress costume” and the keyphrase in the AdWords campaign that triggered the match is “fancy dress” with Phrase match type, Google Analytics will only record this as an entry for the keyword “fancy dress”. Not very useful. To see how to configure Analytics to record the exact keyphrases that are finding your ads refer to Semvironment’s excellent article at <a href="http://www.semvironment.com/ppc-management-adwords-keyword-data-exposed-with-google-analytics/" target="_blank">http://www.semvironment.com/ppc-management-adwords-keyword-data-exposed-with-google-analytics/</a></p>
<p>Now, as the exact keywords are recorded over the first few weeks of the campaign, we know exactly which keyphrases people are searching for and finding our ads using.  To improve the effectiveness of our campaign, and to keep it well ahead of the competition, we then create new ad groups in our AdWords campaign that are based upon the exact keyphrases that are recorded by Analytics Traffic Sources-&gt;Keywords report.</p>
<p><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-136" title="picture-27" src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/picture-27.png" alt="picture-27" width="581" height="480" /></p>
<p style="text-align: center;">
<p>So, to be exact, we view this Keywords report in Analytics and take the top trafficked phrases that we don’t have any ads directly targeting and create a new ad group specifically targeting that phrase.  So from the screenshot below of a live campaign that I am running, we can see that in #5 is the exact search term “halloween fancy dress”, which is finding the my ad which is targeting the phrase “fancy dress”.  I don’t have an ad group targeting “halloween fancy dress” specifically so I will create one specifically for that and also I will add the exact match negative keyword ( -[halloween fancy dress] ) to my Fancy Dress ad group so that I am sure the correct ad group will be triggered when people search for “halloween fancy dress” in future.</p>
<p>Of course, other AdWords basic rules apply, such as always targeting specific landing pages on the target website which is most relevant to the keyword and therefore ad that the user clicks on, as well as using <a href="http://www.splittester.com" target="_blank">SplitTester.com</a> to monitor competing ads within each ad group to see which one to drop and replace.</p>
<p><em><strong>If you like this post please bookmark and/or link back to it and share the link love!  I really appreciate it. </strong></em></p>
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