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	<title>WebReach, Cavan, Ireland &#187; Keyphrase</title>
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	<link>http://webreach.ie</link>
	<description>SEO and Internet Marketing, Ireland</description>
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		<title>How Google Rewards Smart Marketers &#8211; The AdWords Cost-Per-Click Equation</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/how-google-adwords-determines-your-cost-per-click-cpc/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/how-google-adwords-determines-your-cost-per-click-cpc/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 05 May 2009 16:49:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google AdWords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ad Relevance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[AdWords Algorithm]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Bid Price]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Cost Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Cpc]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Hal Varian]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyphrase]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Landing Page]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Page Position]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Page Quality]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click Network]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Quality Score]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Score Number]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=259</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Most pay per click networks work on the simple rule that the higher you bid for a certain keyphrase, the higher your ad position. But this is not the way that the most popular (and fairest) pay-per-click network, Google AdWords, calculates your ad position.
In AdWords, bid price is only one factor in its ad position [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Most pay per click networks work on the simple rule that the higher you bid for a certain keyphrase, the higher your ad position. But this is not the way that the most popular (and fairest) pay-per-click network, Google AdWords, calculates your ad position.</p>
<p>In AdWords, bid price is only one factor in its ad position equation. The other main factor in the ad ranking equation is Quality Score, as calculated by combining a bunch of factors, the 3 main ones being (listed in order of weighting):<br />
1. Click-Thru-Rate (CTR),<br />
2. Ad Relevance (keywords in ad title and copy)<br />
3. Landing page quality (keywords in landing page copy, structure, etc.) <span id="more-259"></span></p>
<p>Then Google takes your Quality Score and multiplies it by your bid price (Max CPC), and generates a number, called &#8220;Ad Rank&#8221;. The higher this number is compared to that of your competitors, the higher your ad ranks on the page for the given keyphrase.</p>
<p>Then, your Cost Per Click for your ad is calculated by <em>dividing your Quality Score into the Ad Rank of your next competitor</em> <strong>(thus, higher QS = lower CPC)</strong>.</p>
<p>Here is an example of how this works, with 4 ads all bidding the same amount for a given keyphrase, but all having different Quality Scores.</p>
<table border="1" cellpadding="3" align="center">
<tbody>
<tr>
<th>Ad Page Position</th>
<th>Max Bid</th>
<th>Quality Score</th>
<th>Ad Rank</th>
<th>Actual CPC</th>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">1</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">8</td>
<td align="center">32</td>
<td>(24/8) = €3</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">2</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">6</td>
<td align="center">24</td>
<td>(12/6) = €2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">3</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">3</td>
<td align="center">12</td>
<td>(8/3) = €2.67</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center">4</td>
<td align="center">€4</td>
<td align="center">2</td>
<td align="center">8</td>
<td> </td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<p>Google&#8217;s Chief Economist, Hal Varian, posted a video on YouTube back in March explaining how all of this works. The video is embedded below.</p>
<p align="center"><object width="560" height="340" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/K7l0a2PVhPQ&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/K7l0a2PVhPQ&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /></object></p>
<p>So this all points to how important it is to maintain a high Quality Score on all of the ads in your AdWords campaigns, in order to make sure that the ad is relevant for the user (ensuring a possibility of making a sale or gaining a lead) and also to keep costs down.</p>
<p>In my experience, it not good if your QS for a given keyword drops below 8. Incremental improvements to QS can be attained by constantly split testing ads against each other in each ad group in order to improve CTR and also by constantly testing and improving landing pages.</p>
<p>Hope you enjoyed this post, please do subscribe to our feed (or email updates) and we also welcome your comments.</p>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Cashing in on Search Traffic &#8211; Simple SEO Produces Results</title>
		<link>http://webreach.ie/blog/cashing-in-on-search-traffic-simple-seo-produces-results/</link>
		<comments>http://webreach.ie/blog/cashing-in-on-search-traffic-simple-seo-produces-results/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 05 May 2009 13:58:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>ollie</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimisation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Wordpress]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Description Tags]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ireland]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyphrase]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keyword]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Keywords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Languages]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Life Coaching]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Niche Dating]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Page Content]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Regard]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Relationship]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Relationship Coaching]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Screenshot]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Volume]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Seo]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://webreach.ie/?p=245</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Ok now I make no secret that I like to build sites on WordPress whenever it is a suitable,  as it allows us to do fundamental on-page SEO on a site pretty easily, and also the blogging system is easy to configure and tweak on WordPress.  We have a client who is targeting the Life [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Ok now I make no secret that I like to build sites on WordPress whenever it is a suitable,  as it allows us to do fundamental on-page SEO on a site pretty easily, and also the blogging system is easy to configure and tweak on WordPress.  We have a client who is targeting the Life Coaching niche (Dating and Relationship coaching in particular), and we recently build a site for her, you can check it out at <a title="GoodLife Coaching" href="http://www.goodlifecoaching.ie" target="_blank">www.GoodLifeCoaching.ie</a>. Its build on WordPress 2.7 and is also a bilingual site, as it allows the owner to write post and page content in both English and German, and allows the visitors to switch between languages by clicking on the appropriate link. <span id="more-245"></span></p>
<p>I spent a few hours doing the basic SEO work on this site, the same as I would do on any site we develop. At a minimum, the title and description tags are carefully written to target the desired keywords and of course the page content must be relevant and contain the keywords that the site is targeting also. There are of course, lots of other on-page SEO factors, and we took care of those also.  Within a week of launching the site, it is on the #1 spot of Google.ie for the keyphrase &#8220;dating coaching&#8221; (check out the screenshot below).</p>
<p><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-248" title="GoodLifeCoaching #1 on Google.ie for keyword &quot;dating coaching&quot;" src="http://webreach.ie/wp-content/uploads/picture-18.png" alt="GoodLifeCoaching #1 on Google.ie for keyword &quot;dating coaching&quot;" width="763" height="517" /></p>
<p>The keyphrase &#8220;dating coaching&#8221; does not have much competition in Ireland, so this was not such a difficult task.  The keyword &#8220;life coaching&#8221; is much more competitive so more effort will be required to get the site ranking for this keyword, more content is needed, and also a long-term manual inbound link-building campaign will be very useful in this regard.  &#8220;Dating Coaching&#8221; is a low-volume keyphrase (i.e. very few people actually search using those keywords in Ireland) but &#8220;Relationship Coaching&#8221; is much higher, and &#8220;Life Coaching&#8221; much higher volume again, so in this example the competition follows the search volume, which is usually (but not always) the case.</p>
<p>More updates coming soon, do subscribe and leave comments also, all appreciated.</p>
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